MAPLE CINNAMON HUMMUS

Image

 

 

I’ve been developing this recipe for my internship. I was assigned to come up with a hummus recipe because the hospital has a stock of garbanzo beans they want to use up. But then I was challenged to make it a breakfast item so the menu developers would have more protein rich options for the patients to spread on their toast and english muffins in the morning. So I found a recipe for maple cinnamon hummus and have since made 7 different varieties. My favorite is listed below:

 

MAPLE CINNAMON HUMMUS:

  • 1 15-oz. can chickpeas
  • 3 T maple syrup
  • 1 T peanut butter
  • 2 T plain greek yogurt
  • 0.5 t vanilla extract
  • 1 t cinnamon 

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.

Some other varieties include adding a teaspoon of brown sugar or a tablespoon of applesauce to add sweetness. For a vegan variety, swap the greek yogurt for soy milk. If the peanut butter flavor is too strong for you (apparently some people don’t love peanut butter) then try swapping out the peanut butter for a tablespoon of canned pumpkin- this version is better when you add a teaspoon of brown sugar as well.